Scholarship program highlights the impact of generosity

Group of award recipients holding their certificates.
Scholarship recipients (L-R) Kath Cruickshanks, Duchesne Markham, Bronwyn Hogan, Gabrielle Beard, Keyanna Hood, Julie Ryall, Cath Jamieson, Kate McKenzie, Niamh Condren, Lynette Geary, Caitlin Latter, Sarah Duncan, Tegan Russell, Estelle Guthrie, Cath Willers
9 November 2023 | Fundraising | Events | Staff

The hard work and dedication of staff at the Women’s has been recognised through the announcement of the 2023 Women’s scholarships.

The scholarships were awarded at a celebratory event at the Women’s last week, that was attended by donors and sponsors, who make the program possible.

Twenty-three scholarships were presented by the Women’s Chief Executive Professor Sue Matthews, Chief Operating Officer Lisa Lynch, and Chief Medical Officer Mark Garwood.

Professor Matthews praised the support of the Women’s donors and sponsors in helping our people achieve their career goals and deliver better outcomes for women and newborns.

“These scholarships provide opportunities for our staff to further spread their wings and embrace an exciting future at the Women’s,” she said.

The Women’s Philanthropy and Community Investment Executive Director, Jason Smith, said the event was a testament to the impact of the Women’s philanthropic culture.

“Every year, we see the fantastic opportunities provided by these scholarships. Our partners are opening doors for our staff to expand their skills and expertise, which ultimately improves the care we provide,” he said.

“We are immensely thankful for the ongoing support of our sponsors and donors.”

Congratulations to the 2023 scholarship recipients

  • Diane Foster Bursary: Cath Willers, Associate Midwife Unit Manager
  • Elite Print Solutions Staff Scholarship: Caitlin Latter, Clinical Midwife Specialist, and Rajesh Manihar, Sustainability Officer
  • Johnstaff Aboriginal Scholarship: Paral Loupis, Jaimie Benn, Evelyn Burns, Alexandrea Burton and Storm Henry, Baggarrook Caseload team
  • M & J Crutch Aboriginal Scholarship: Gina Bundle OAM, Keyanna Hood and Tremaine Stockdale, Aboriginal Hospital Liaison Officers, and Paral Loupis, Jaimie Benn, Evelyn Burns, Alexandrea Burton and Storm Henry, Baggarrook Caseload team
  • Leo Dillon Neonatal Scholarship: Emily Wang, Clinical Pharmacist, and the Women’s NICU team
  • Michelle Sales Leadership Scholarship: Sarah Duncan, Manager, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy and Speech Pathology
  • Oscar and Luca Neonatal Scholarship: Joanne Bell, Project & Clinical Lead, Family Integrated Care
  • Pat Baer Scholarship for Social Work: Tegan Russell, Social Worker, Women's Alcohol and Drug Service
  • The Women’s Development Scholarship, proudly supported by Amber Infrastructure, Cushman & Wakefield and ISS Facility Services: Aisha Jakszewicz, Counsellor, Courtenay Ford, Fertility Nurse, Elaine Foundis, Executive Assistant, Emma Royall, Sexual Health & Rapid Access Service Nurse Coordinator, Estelle Guthrie, WHS Advisor, Gabrielle Beard, Clinical Support Midwife, Julie Ryall, Senior Radiographer, Kate McKenzie, Associate Nurse Unit Manager, Lynette Geary, Associate Unit Manager, Maternity, Kath Cruickshanks, Associate Unit Manager, Maternity, Cath Jamieson, Associate Unit Manager, Maternity, and Niamh Condren, Volunteer Program Lead
  • Volunteer and Consumer Representative Scholarship: Bronwyn Hogan, Consumer Representative, Consumer Advisory Committee, and Duchesne Markham, Consumer Representative, Quality and Safety

The winners of this year’s scholarships will pursue learning and training opportunities that will allow them to expand their skills and expertise.

The Leo Dillon Neonatal Scholarship was awarded to Emily Wang (left) and Emma Saviane (right, on behalf of the Women’s Newborn Intensive Care Unit). The scholarship was awarded by Aaron Dillon (second from left) and Laura Dillon (second from right).

Scholarships with tangible impact

The Leo Dillon Neonatal Scholarship was awarded to the Women’s Newborn Intensive Care Unit (NICU) team.

Thanks to the scholarship, the team will undertake bereavement training to improve how they support families through grief and loss.

“This program will allow our NICU team to build capability in a very sensitive area of care that has a lasting impact,” said Jane Bailey, the Women’s Director of Neonatal Services.

“The course includes lived experiences of parents who lost their babies in our hospital, which will provide tailored insights into how we can best support grieving families.  Ultimately, this scholarship allows our staff to learn and grow, so they can continue to provide exceptional care for every person who comes through our doors.”

Find out more about Philanthropy at the Women’s.

Thank you to our scholarship program sponsors: Amber Infrastructure, Cushman & Wakefield and ISS Facility Services.

Thank you to our generous donors and sponsors: David Baer and family, the Dillon family, Elite Print Solutions, the Foster family, Johnstaff, Equity Trustees Charitable Foundation - Margaret and John Crutch Bequest, Michelle Sales Leadership and the Mihaly family.